DMV Fee Calculator
Click the links below to calculate your Registration Fees
What You Need To Know To Register A Vehicle In California
Whether you have lived in California your whole life or are new to the state, you might not know how to register a vehicle the right way. Whether you have purchased a new or used vehicle, the process is the same and by law, you must register with the DMV. Once a vehicle has been purchased, you must provide the registration application as well as the bill of sale to the DMV, whether you purchased the vehicle from a dealership or from a private owner.
The Information Needed To Register A Vehicle In California:
When you arrive at the DMV, make sure you can provide the make, model, and year of the vehicle you are registering. You will also need to submit the type of vehicle such as a motorcycle, truck, or commercial. You must also provide the VIN number (vehicle identification number) that is located between the front windshield and the dashboard. The DMV will also need your driver’s license and if the car is under 10-years old, you must give them the odometer reading which is the mileage on the car at that time.
What You Need To Register A Vehicle Purchased From Another State:
The registration process is still conducted through the DMV in California. If the vehicle was previously registered in another state, you will need the license plate, a certificate of weight and a certification from a smog test. You will also need a Vehicle Transfer and Reassignment Form or a Title Holder Release Form.
Beforehand, consult with the DMV where you are registering the vehicle and find out what vehicles are allowed to be registered within the state and what vehicles are not. You can get a brochure from the DMV that answer many of your questions, or you can contact us directly with any of your questions. In the state of California, any vehicle under 7,500 miles on the odometer, or a new import vehicle that is less than 2-years of age will be prohibited from being registered by the DMV.